Skip to content

dessert for breakfast

May 12, 2010

The second awesomeness of yesterday? Banana bread! I secretly get really excited when I find that my bananas have become overly ripe because then they’re perfect for banana bread. 

 First, full disclosure:

 I can’t eat the tips of bananas. I just can’t. I have this vivid memory from childhood of a  Bugs Bunny episode where there are tarantulas crawling around a case of bananas and  for some reason I translated that into “if I take the tip off the banana I’ll know if there is a  tarantula inside.”  Even though I know now that bananas go through a crazy bleaching  process before being shipped, I guess I just do it out of habit (and secretly checking for  spiders…).

 So, if you try this recipe, and you don’t remove the banana tip, don’t say I didn’t warn  you…

While that is totally unpleasant, this is totally not:

After making the bread, and letting it cool, I toasted slices and served it with homemade maple whipped cream.  Yum Yum Yum!

A perfect dessert for a dinner of creamy pesto pasta.  And the whipped cream is great on top of coffee in the morning.  To make the whipped cream just put some whipping cream in a mixer bowl that’s been in the freezer for a while and add in a bit of maple syrup.  Might need to add more once it’s whipped to taste.

Usually, I make this banana bread with 4-5 bananas, but this time I only had three and it worked out just fine.  Also, I just crush the walnuts in my hand as I drop them in….I like them kind of big.  The bread takes a while to cook (over an hour) and I cover it with aluminum foil at about 45 minutes so it doesn’t burn on the top.  Finally, I’m not sure where I got this recipe. Probably online somewhere.


walnut banana bread

ingredients

1 1/2 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup walnuts, although you might want to add in extra…I do!

1 stick butter, slightly melted (I put it in the microwave for a bit)

3/4 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

4-5 ripe bananas

directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Butter a loaf pan.  In a small bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. In a separate larger bowl, beat the butter and sugar. I use a whisk but you can also use an electric mixer. Add the eggs and then the bananas. Mix it up. Stir in the flour mixture and then fold in the vanilla and the nuts.  Pour into the bread pan and cook for about an hour, maybe longer, until you can stick a thin knife in it and it comes out clean.  You might need to cover it with aluminum foil after about 45 minutes so that it doesn’t brown too much on top.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alex Kindervater permalink
    May 28, 2010 2:17 pm

    Hi Kate! We tried this recipe! It worked out really well, and we especially loved it with the maple whipped cream. Look forward to trying more of your ideas! Say hi to “G”:)
    – Alex and Margot

    • June 2, 2010 11:32 am

      Thank you so much for reading this AND trying out a recipe! You’re the first! I’m glad it turned out well. We just got back from traveling for two weeks so now I’m excited to start cooking again. Hope to see you soon! Kate

Leave a Reply

