Skip to content

pasta is the new bread

May 12, 2010

Two particularly awesome things happened yesterday.  First, I remembered that I had overripe bananas that I had wanted to make into banana bread and second, while I was at the grocery store buying eggs I saw this beautiful bunch of Italian parsley:

 It actually made me stop while I was rushing through the produce aisle to get to the eggs.  It’s so beautiful! And green!  So I brought that home along with the eggs, and G had a brilliant idea of making parsley pesto.  All I can really take credit for is finding the parsley, because G made the whole thing while I was working (thank you! thank you!).  And it turned out great.  

Here are some photos he took while making it.  By the way, almost all the pictures I’ve posted so far are his (the good ones, anyway).

G left out the lemon juice  and only used lemon zest because he then folded the pesto into a quick and simple béchamel and we had a delicious dinner of creamy parsley pesto pasta. (Pasta, in case you didn’t know, is right up there with bread for my favorite things…along with parmesan cheese, wine,  coffee, and croissants.)

parsley pesto

adapted from Mark Bittman’s “Parsley ‘Pesto'” in How to Cook Everything

ingredients

4 cups washed parsley leaves, loosely packed

2 large crushed garlic cloves

Zest of 1-2 lemons

1/2 cup toasted walnuts (the toaster oven makes this really easy)

Salt and fresh ground pepper

1 1/2 cups extra-virgin olive oil

directions

Mix ingredients in a food processor, adding the olive oil a little bit at a time. Done!

g’s simple béchamel

ingredients

1/2 stick butter

6 heaping teaspoons flour

1/2 to 1/3 cups of 2 percent milk

Fresh cracked pepper and salt

directions

In a pan, stir the butter and flour until they are cooked together and form a golden yellow (not golden brown) paste.  Add the milk over medium to low heat.  Stir to mix completely. Keep stirring until it reduces and turns into a sauce that will coat a spoon.  Season with salt and fresh cracked pepper. Turn off heat once taste is right.  If you’re making creamy pesto, now you can fold it into the béchamel.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lou permalink
    May 16, 2010 3:41 pm

    kate,
    Bon appetite! Manifique! I’m bringin’ a movin’ camera when I come to visit next time.

    • May 17, 2010 10:55 am

      Thanks for reading my blog! Next time you come we’ll cook up a feast.

Leave a Reply

