Skip to content

saturday afternoon scarborough frittata

May 15, 2010

This is my first ever frittata and I’m really impressed with myself.  Like really impressed.  I had some leftover parsley from the pesto and I thought parsley….hmmm….sage, rosemary, and thyme!  Of course!  I’ve actually never had these four herbs together, or at least I can’t remember if I have. But I have no reason to doubt the great S&G.  So I chopped up the rest of the parsley and folded it along with dried versions of the other herbs into the egg mixture (which, of course, has parmesan).

 

 Before pouring that into a  cast iron skillet, I sauteed  chopped onions and garlic  in butter.  The frittata was  surprisingly easy to cook. I  was worried that I  wouldn’t be able to tell  when it was done, but it  just took about 7-10  minutes on the stove and  then 10 minutes in the  oven.  I took it out once the  top no longer jiggled when  I shook the pan.

It came out really beautifully. The combination of the parsley and the dried herbs contrasts nicely with the egg.  I garnished it with more fresh parsley, loosely chopped.  And, of course, served it with fresh bread.


scarborough frittata

adapted from Mark Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything”

ingredients

6 eggs

1/2 to 1 cup parmesan cheese, freshly and finely grated

salt and pepper to taste

butter for cooking, about 2-4 tablespoons

chopped onion, about 1/4 cup

2 cloves of chopped garlic

chopped fresh parsley (I think I used about 1 cup) and a little extra for garnish

Dried thyme, sage, rosemary, to taste (about a pinch or two)

directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Saute the onion in butter on medium heat in a medium cast iron skillet. As they start to cook add in the garlic.  Cook for a few minutes and then turn off the heat.  

In a mixing bowl, whisk the eggs, cheese, and salt and pepper.  Then whisk in the herbs.  Turn the heat back on under the cast iron skillet and add another tablespoon or two of butter (with the onions and garlic still in it).  Let it heat up and add in the egg mixture.  Stir once or twice then let it cook on medium heat.  It should cook for about 7 minutes or so until the bottom seems kind of firm. The top will still be runny.  

Put the pan in the oven and cook it until the top is no longer runny and doesn’t jiggle when you shake the pan.  I set the timer and checked it every five minutes, and it was done after 10 minutes. Garnish with more chopped parsley.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 6:16 pm

    Mini apples~

    • May 17, 2010 10:57 am

      I LOVE this picture. Are these ones you found in the secret place you were telling me about?

  2. Garnet permalink
    May 15, 2010 6:20 pm

    I’m the luckiest person in the world… This blog is the best of your obsessions. Love it and you!

  3. terry permalink
    May 20, 2010 1:39 pm

    Love reading your blog and LOVE the frittata recipe. It’s not luring me to cook-just eat, and visit very soon. Thanks for taking the time for this.

Leave a Reply

