Skip to content

not maple’s but still pretty delicious

June 3, 2010


We’ve been gone for the last two weeks, and most of that time we were in Washington, DC for one of my best friend’s wedding. It was basically a week-long event, and although we were kept pretty busy, we somehow managed to end at least four of the nights with a cone of gelato at an Argentinian gelato store in Georgetown called Dolcezza that my parents took us to. We made it there even when we had to call ahead to make sure the store would stay open and then jump in the car, my mom and I still wearing our saris from the rehearsal dinner…
As far as I can tell, there doesn’t seem to be a difference between Italian and Argentinian gelato, but the story behind the place is that the owner was traveling in South America and met a woman who would end up becoming his wife.  The two hit it off right away and she took him back to Argentina to meet her family and he fell in love with her and gelato.  They decided to bring gelato to DC (his hometown) and they opened the first shop in Georgetown.  Now there are stores, I think, in Bethesda and Dupont Circle, but all of the gelato production happens every morning in the basement of the Georgetown store.  And the flavors change every week and depending on what’s in season.

I’m pretty sure I taste-tested all of the flavors from last week and my favorites were Classic Chocolate (ok, that’s been my favorite since forever…how can you go wrong with plain chocolate) and Thai Coconut Milk.  I also loved the Dulce de Leche but it was hard to get through a whole cone because it was so rich.  G’s favorite seemed to be one called Valrhona Chocolate Amargo, which I’m just guessing on since he ordered it every time.  It’s super dark chocolate, and really good, and I liked it best when it was in a double scoop with pistachio.  

 So, this is my first “travel recommendation.” Go try Dolcezza when you’re in DC.  It’s really good, although it’s not the best gelato I’ve ever had.  That would be Maple’s Organic Gelato in Portland, ME.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mimi permalink
    June 22, 2010 11:56 pm

    I soooo remember their gelato. Yum! I too recall a jump from the car before a flight. 😉

Leave a Reply

