Skip to content

six of one, half dozen of the other

June 8, 2010

That would be eggs and garlic.  (Secretly, you see, that means the same amount of each.)

I woke up this morning with a frittata invented in my head. Yes, invented.  And in my head it tasted delicious.  And kind of perfect for a really rainy early June day.  It’s got six eggs like the last frittata I made, but also six cloves of garlic that I cut into thin slices and cooked in butter so that they were kind of roasty and a little crisp.  In addition to the usual parmesan and salt & pepper, I also cooked some mixed lettuce greens and added lemon zest to the egg mixture.  Coming out of the oven it had the most beautiful smell of the lemon and garlic.  

I also added a dash of milk to the egg mixture, which I didn’t do the last time, and I’m not sure I liked it. I’m not going to include that in this recipe.  I think it did make the frittata fluffier but also maybe drier? I think next time I’m going to just try adding more eggs but keep the same size pan to see if I can get it a little taller.  But, overall I think it tasted great, and I love that my hands now smell like lemon and garlic.  

     

roasted garlic frittata

ingredients

6 eggs

6 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

2-4 tablespoons butter

mixed salad greens, about a handful

1/2 cup parmesan cheese, freshly and finely grated

zest of 1/2 a lemon

salt and pepper to taste

directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium-sized cast iron skillet melt about 1-2 tablespoons of butter.  Add the garlic and cook until edges are brown/slightly crispy.  You’ll smell the garlic change smells as it goes in raw then cooks slightly and finally when it starts to smell roasty.  Add a handful of mixed salad greens and cook for a few minutes.  These don’t need to cook all the way down.  Turn off heat.

In a mixing bowl, whisk the eggs, parmesan, and salt and pepper.  Whisk in the lemon zest.  Turn heat back on under the skillet and add another tablespoon or so of butter to the greens and garlic.  Let the pan heat up and then add the egg mixture.  Stir once or twice to mix and then cook on medium for about 7 minutes until the bottom seems like it’s firming up.  Put in oven and cook for about 10 minutes, checking every 5 minutes, until you can shake the pan and nothing jiggles.  Serve hot or room temperature.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

