Skip to content

father’s day scones

June 21, 2010

Since yesterday was Father’s Day, I’ve decided to work my way backwards through the meals I haven’t written about in the last week because I’ve been too busy eating them, with great company.  So first, Father’s Day.  Father’s Day scones, that is.  

Finding presents for my dad is really difficult.  I haven’t been able to figure out why that is because he’s interested in a lot of things.  But this week, as I was doing the usual pondering about what to get him, I realized that he likes food (who doesn’t…) and I’ve been into baking recently so I should put two and two together and make him some scones.  I had organic strawberries left over from strawberry shortcake (which was awesome, more on that later), and while these turned out to look more like “happy valentine’s day” scones, I think they were still pretty tasty…and looked beautiful.

I adapted the recipe from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything by using half whole wheat pastry flour and half all-purpose flour.  (He calls for either all all-purpose flour or all cake flour.  I also added a little more sugar (by accident) and used chopped fresh strawberries instead of the currants or raisins in his recipe.  This recipe was really simple, takes no time to bake, and the only annoying thing about it is cutting the butter up into little bits.

So, enjoy!  And happy father’s day, Dad!

PS: According to Food Lover’s Companion, scones are Scottish and get their name from the “Stone of Destiny” where they apparently used to crown Scottish kings.  Thought you’d like that, Dad.

strawberry scones 

adapted from Mark Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything”

ingredients

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

extra flour kneading, shaping, etc

1 teaspoon salt

4 teaspoons baking powder

2 tablespoons sugar, plus extra for sprinkling at the end

5 tablespoons cold butter

3 eggs

3/4 heavy cream (I only had a half cup so I used 1 percent milk to make up the rest)

1/3 cup chopped strawberries, and an extra whole strawberry or two for topping

1 tablespoon water

directions

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

In a mixing bowl, mix together the flours, salt, baking powder, and sugar.  Add the butter by cutting it into small pieces into the bowl. (This is super annoying but I just stand there and chip away at it with a regular knife so that little bits fall into the flour mixture).  Once all the butter is in mix it with your hands, kind of like you’re massaging the butter bits so it gets blended in.  The more you can blend it the better, but I usually give up after a while and don’t mind some little chunky butter bits.

In a separate (larger) bowl, whisk two eggs and the cream until mixed.  Add the flour mixture and stir to mix.  This doesn’t need to be overly mixed.  Fold in the strawberries.

Flour a cutting board or other work surface and empty the dough onto it.  You’ll need to work more flour into it probably, but the goal is to knead it a bit and get it so it’s possible to work with it (ie not totally sticking to your hands/cutting board) but still kind of sticky (so a little stick to your hands is ok).  

When you think it’s ready, flatten into about 3/4 inch thick. Flour the rim of a glass or mug (or biscuit cutter) to cut out the scones.  Place these on an ungreased cookie sheet and keep reforming the dough until you’ve got them all.  

In a small bowl mix the last egg and the tablespoon of water and brush this over the top of each biscuit.  Add a strawberry slice to each and sprinkle the scone with a little sugar.  

Bake 7-10 minutes, until starts to turn golden brown on top.  You can test the scone to see if it’s done with a toothpick: it should come out clean.  Cool on a wire rack.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mimi permalink
    June 23, 2010 12:08 am

    I’m completely inspired! Can you guys move in?!? 😉 Your fabulous food and fun cocktail recipes have left me drooling as I try to rearrange my calendar to find the time to attempt each and every recipe. What a fabulous Blog! Look forward to your next post. Love you!

    • June 23, 2010 10:16 am

      Yay! I’m so glad you like it! Let me know if you try any. Maybe we can do some cooking during our sisters weekend, which we need to talk about soon! Love love love!

Leave a Reply

