Skip to content

found: oatmeal cookies

July 24, 2010

Here’s what I knew before Thursday night:

1. My mom makes delicious oatmeal cookies.

2. I do not have her recipe.

3. All the recipes I’ve tried have surprisingly failed.

4. I don’t really like raisins. (I don’t hate them, but…)

5. Milk should never be in an oatmeal cookie recipe (see no. 3). Ever.

6. Oatmeal cookies don’t have have many ingredients and shouldn’t be that hard to mess up.  I mean, everyone can make them, right?

7. I haven’t asked my mom for her recipe.

8. I’m really good at making oatmeal.  So what’s the problem?

9. I don’t know why I haven’t asked my mom for her recipe.

So that’s where things stood on the oatmeal cookie front, until I decided to take one more stab at it the night before G took his preliminary exam (you need something to get you through sitting for 8 hours in front of a computer).  Logically, if there is anything to learn out of the 9 facts above, I should have called my mother.  She’s kind of an expert on the cookie.  But–maybe because it was late–I didn’t.  Instead, totally illogically, I reached for Amy Sedaris’ cookbook of sorts called “I Like You: Hospitality Under The Influence.”

So you get an idea: oatmeal cookies are listed on the suggested menu for a “Lumberjack Lunch” :

Don’t question a lumberjack and never look one in the eye. Be polite when suggesting they remove their cleats, but be prepared if they don’t. I always have a clear path to the table, and another to the bathroom. Feeding lumberjacks can be very rewarding when you take care to follow all the necessary precautions.

The whole book is filled with loads of advice for really any type of situation.  But there are also recipes. And, I haven’t made anything else from the book, but the oatmeal cookie one was really good.  I did swap out raisins for Craisins, because that’s what I had. Finally, oatmeal cookies.  Thanks Amy Sedaris. PS: Yes, you can eat them for breakfast.

oatmeal cookies

adapted from Amy Sedaris’ Lumberjack’s Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies from “I Like You: Hospitality Under The Influence”

makes approximately 16 cookies, depending on how big you want them

ingredients

2 sticks of unsalted butter, plus a little extra for greasing a cookie sheet

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon salt (the recipe calls for 1/2 teaspoon, but G suggested I add more, so play around with it and see what you like)

1 1/2 cups Craisins (or raisins if that’s what you like)

3 cups rolled oats

directions

Soften the butter in the microwave if it’s cold (about 30 seconds).  You want it to be soft enough that you can whisk it.  In a large bowl, whisk the butter and both the sugars together.  (You can also do this with an electric hand beater, but I use the whisk because it doesn’t take that long and its’ not worth getting out all the extra tools.)  When mixed, add the vanilla and eggs.  In a separate bowl, mix together all the other ingredients, except the Craisins.  Add the dry mixture to the wet one, mixing with a spoon.  Once this is mixed, add the Craisins and mix.

Stick the bowl in the fridge to chill while you preheat the oven to 375 degrees and grease a cookie sheet with butter (or two if they fit in your oven–I had to make these in batches, one sheet at a time…if you do this you can just stick the remaining dough back in the fridge while you wait).

When the oven is ready, take the dough out of the fridge, form dough into balls with your hands and flatten them slightly before placing them on the prepared sheet.  I made my balls kind of big (using a wooden spoon-sized amount) and placed them about an inch and a half apart. Thus, they were really big (and I like that) and some stuck together, which is no problem for me since they are easy to separate with a spatula when they come out of the oven. But if you’re aesthetically picky, make them smaller (like a normal spoon-size), or experiment on the next batch.  Put them in the oven and check them after 10 minutes.

Cook until they turn from tan to golden brown-ish.  You want them to feel not squishy, but not too firm/hard on top.  This could take between 10 and 15 minutes.  (It should take 10-12 min, but mine took more like 15…I think my oven temperature is off.)  Remove from sheet and cool on a cookie rack.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2010 1:22 pm

    I’m making these RIGHT NOW. Can’t wait to taste them! I’ve been in the mood for oatmeal cookies and all my recipes are packed away at the moment. THANKS on your timing with this one. Love you food choices.

    • July 25, 2010 10:11 am

      Did you make them? How did they turn out? When you get your recipes unpacked away, I also want to get the snickerdoodle one!

  2. July 25, 2010 1:40 pm

    Yes, I made a big batch and loved them. I think the full tsp of salt is a nice counterpoint to the sugar. My cookies are about two inches in diameter cooked, and I got many more than 16 out of the batter.

    • July 25, 2010 10:35 pm

      Awesome! I’m so glad they came out well! I think you’re totally right about the extra salt. I recently learned a lot about cookie sheets, so when I get some time I’m going to write a post about that.

Leave a Reply

