Skip to content

dried blueberry scones

January 30, 2011

Hello everyone!  My belated New Year’s resolution is to get back to this. I have been cooking, but, alas, not posting.  Hopefully over the next week or so I will catch up on some of the big moments of the last two months (we’ll go back to Thanksgiving and New Year’s Eve!) but for now, here are the scones I made yesterday morning.

 

 

For my birthday, I got a wonderful book as a present from wonderful friends called The Modern Baker by Nick Malgieri.  I highly recommend it, especially for the pictures and detailed information, although this is the only recipe I’ve used from it so far.  A while ago I made my first attempt at scones (strawberry scones for Father’s Day) and while they were delicious they lacked the dryness of traditional scones.  These scones from The Modern Baker (called “Real Welsh Scones) fit the bill: dry, yet buttery, and not too sweet.  I added dried blueberries to the batter, which I got at Costco.  Dried blueberries are great, because they are kind of like currants (ie. small) but with a tarter and, obviously, blueberry flavor. I would definitely recommend trying it out! What’s also great about these scones is that they can be ready to eat in about a half and hour (or 45 minutes if you’re slow in the morning like me…).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

dried blueberry scones

adapted from “Real Welsh Scone” in The Modern Baker by Nick Malgieri

ingredients

2 1/4 cups of flour

1/3 cup of sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 stick of cold butter (unsalted)

1 egg

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup dried blueberries

directions

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Using a food processor with the metal blade, mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, cream of tartar, and salt for a couple of pulses.  Add the butter by cutting the stick into about 12 pieces and letting them fall into the bowl.  Pulse until the mixture is mealy and dry (about 30 seconds).

Add the mixture to a mixing bowl.  In a separate small bowl whisk the egg and milk. Slowly add this to the flour/butter mixture, mixing it in with a fork while you go.  Keep mixing until it is mostly moist.  You’ll probably need to use your hands to bring it all together in one ball.

Turn it out onto a slightly floured surface and knead it a few times to bring it together and to make the dough smooth, but don’t over work it.  Divide in half and form each half into a roughly 6-inch disk.  Put both on a foiled cookie sheet.

Use a knife to cut each disk into wedges, but only go about half way through the disk (you’re basically scoring it).  I cut each disk into 8 wedges, but for bigger scones do 4. After they will bake you will cut them all the way.  Cook in the oven for about 15 minutes. The recipes says 12-15, but it took more like 20-25 in my oven. I think it’s because my oven is pretty off.  Basically you want them to be pretty golden brown on top and solid on the top (not springy when you touch them).

When they are done take them out and cut them along the score lines you made and eat them!  (I prefer them with butter, but they’d be good with jam too.)  Note: if you cut them and they don’t seem quite done in the middle, just stick them back in the oven.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Alex Kindervater permalink
    February 1, 2011 2:40 pm

    These look really good! I’ll have to try them sometime.

Leave a Reply

