Skip to content

Lidia’s Trapanese

August 21, 2012

20120821-152147.jpg

New beginnings should always be marked by a big bowl of pasta. I’ve been spending the summer mainly researching and working on my dissertation and haven’t given much time to writing here or cooking really (ok, so it’s been much longer than just the summer…). G and I have been cooking a bunch over the last few weeks, so what better time to start up again.

We went to the Farmer’s Market on Saturday and got the most beautiful multi-colored cherry tomatoes and basil that smells amazing. We had recently watched one of Lidia Bastianich’s shows of cooking in Italy and were inspired to make her pesto trapanese with tomatoes and almonds. This is such a quick recipe (everything is just blended in the food processor) and just like pesto it can be made a few days ahead of time. It’s both nutty like a pesto and almost creamy tasting like a creamy tomato sauce. I highly recommend. I should also note that our turned out more of a golden color, but I’m sure if you used all red cherry tomatoes it would be more red.

20120821-152931.jpg

Lidia’s Trapanese

from: http://lidiasitaly.com/recipes/detail/853

Ingredients:

3/4 pound cherry tomatoes

12 leaves of basil

1/3 cup almonds, toasted briefly

1 clove garlic peeled

1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes (I did a generous pinch)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup olive oil

1 pound pasta (we used spaghetti)

1/2 cup grated parmesan

Directions:

Put everything but the olive oil and parmesan (and pasta of course) into the food processor and blend until finely pureed. Add the olive oil slowly while the machine runs. Taste to see if you need anything and then you’re done! If you store it in the fridge to use later, make sure you bring it back up to room temperature.

When ready to serve, add the freshly cooked pasta to a large bowl with the pesto (note: we didn’t use all of it so I would suggest adding half to the bowl first to see how sauce-y you want it). Toss and then toss in the parmesan. Serve with a big of fresh parm on top if you want.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. "G" permalink
    August 21, 2012 4:02 pm

    Yay!

    So glad that you’re doing this again. That pasta was SO amazing. Let’s make it again tomorrow!

    xo,
    G

  2. Anonymous permalink
    August 22, 2012 8:16 am

    I’d like to make this too. Is that 1/3 cup almonds toasted?

    • August 22, 2012 10:52 am

      Yes it is. Thanks for catching that! I’ll change it right now.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    August 23, 2012 8:15 pm

    Wonderful flavors- absolutely loved it. Cherry tomatoes and fresh basil from our farmers market. Wine selection: Korta Katarina, a Rose from Croatia highly recommended with this Trapanese pasta.

    • August 23, 2012 11:37 pm

      I’m so glad you liked it! I will have to keep an eye out for that rose!

  4. Gladys Salmela permalink
    August 30, 2012 8:50 pm

    Kate, this is Gladys. I got this recipe from your mother and I just love it! It is one I will use again and again. I made it with regular tomatoes tonight, as that is what I had on hand, and it was just as delicious as when we tasted it at your parents the other night. I love the color, the texture and just a hint of spice. Thanks for posting!

    • August 31, 2012 2:50 pm

      Great! It’s good to hear it turned out so well for you and I’m going to try regular tomatoes next time! I’m in love with this recipe…it’s sooo good!

Leave a Reply

