Skip to content

A New Year, New Decade…Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes!

February 8, 2013

I haven’t been posting as much, mostly because I’ve been working a lot on my dissertation lately.  We’ve still been cooking a bunch, however, so I’m going to try to keep on top of it.

So far 2013 has been off to a good start. Other than an amazing week of boozing and eating in New Orleans, which helped me face turning a decade older, G and I have been off to a really healthy start to the new year. We started it off with Bon Appetit’s Food Lover’s Cleanse (which promises to introduce you to healthy foods for a week but not at the expense of your taste buds).  We actually only got through the first week because of the NOLA trip, but it was a great experience. I didn’t love all of the recipes but I like that it planned everything for you – breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner. Because we work from home, this is great for me and gets rid of the, what should we have? should we just order something? easy fix to lunch or dinner. We were also introduced to a lot of new grains and preparations. You can check out the plan here: http://www.bonappetit.com/recipes/2013/01/2013-food-lovers-cleanse A major highlight was the dark chocolate seed bark.  SUPER easy to make.

Back, then, from NOLA, we’ve tried to incorporate some of these ideas and I’ve been writing weekly menus trying to limit gluten and dairy. I’ll try to share more of these over the next few weeks. Here’s one new staple: Pomegranate, apple, walnut, and chia seed oatmeal.

I used to add milk to my oatmeal, but I found that with stirring the apples and pomegranates in I don’t really miss it. Sometimes I’ll add a bit of cinnamon while the oats are cooking in the pot.  I’m still not too sure about the benefits of chia seeds, but I’ve heard them talked about a lot and I picked up a bag at Costco. Like a lot of more expensive natural or organic stuff, I often won’t try it until I see it at Costco. That’s how I came across hemp seeds too, which are great in the chocolate bark.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sherry permalink
    February 8, 2013 1:39 pm

    There are several excellent recipes in Bon Appetit’s food cleanse . . . thanks for telling me about it! Yes, the Seeded Chocolate Bark is amazing and quite easy to make. Good that you’ve been working on your dissertation. That and preparing and eating delicious healthy food are a great combination; effort, energy, effort, energy . . .

Leave a Reply

